European Commission will provide €248 million for five countries that supported refugees

Cristian Hatis 1 Min Read

European Commission decided to make €248 million available to 5 countries that were the most affected at the start of the war and have been hosting a large number of refugees.

This emergency assistance from home affairs funds will support Poland, Romania, Hungary, Slovakia and Czechia.

Member States can use these funds to provide immediate assistance such as food, transport and temporary accommodation to people fleeing Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

To ensure that funds are quickly disbursed without a heavy administrative burden, the European Commission will release the funding based on results achieved, rather than the actual costs.

The decision follows the 9 April Global Pledging event ”Stand Up for Ukraine”, where the Commission committed up to €400 million to support refugees from Ukraine in the most affected states.

MUST READ: European Union states exported almost 1.3 million bicycles in 2020

Share This Article